Guadaloupe is a group of islands located in the Lesser Antilles, in the eastern Caribbean sea. It comprises several islands including Basse-Terre, Grande-Terre, Marie-Galante, La Desirade, Iles des Saintes, Saint-Barthelemy, Iles de la Petite Terre, and Saint-Martin. The island of Saint Martin is shared with Netherland and only northern part belongs to Guadaloupe.
From above, Guadaloupe looks like butterfly. „Wings“ are made of two major islands, Basse Terre and Grande Terre. These islands are separated by narrow seawater channel known as Salt River. It is interesting that „Basse Terre“ means flat ground, although it is very mountainous with a volcano which is still alive.
Guadaloupe is a French overseas department and French is official language. Most locals also speak Creole, a mixture of French, English, Spanish and African languages. As a part of France, Guadaloupe is a part of the European Union so its currency is the euro. The capital of Guadeloupe is Basse Terre.

Copyright © 2010-2012. All rights reserved Read our Privacy policy. All images are own work of the author of this site or listed in the public domain.